To be qualified to work as a pharmacy technician in the State of Nevada, you will need to obtain your licensure from the Nevada State Board of pharmacy.
Basic qualifications to become a pharmacy technician in Nevada
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or an equivalent education
- Can’t be convicted of any felony or misdemeanour related to moral turpitude, dishonesty or unlawful possession, sale or use of drugs
- No history of drug abuse
You must obtain ONE of the following to be allowed to submit an application:
- Certificate of completion from a board-approved pharmacy technician program
- Individuals who have a certificate from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) or the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT) must complete at least 500 hours of as a pharmaceutical technician in training to obtain a managing pharmacist certification of pharmaceutical technician in training
- Certificate from a school accredited by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists
- Out of state applicants can use their current registration or on-line verification from the state they are registered as a pharmacy tech. Take note that only up to date registrations are accepted
Complete and detailed technician requirements can be found in this page.
- Pharmaceutical technician application fee – $40
- Pharmaceutical technician in training application – $40
All fees are payable by money order or cashier’s check only which is made payable to the “Nevada State Board of Pharmacy”. If you are renewing online, fees are paid through credit card.
All pharmacy technician licenses will expire on the 31st of October on even numbered years regardless of date of issuance. Renewal forms will be sent to the technician’s address a few weeks before expiration and can be done online, by mail or in person.
New legislature mandates all pharmacy technicians to obtain a minimum of an hour of continuing education in pharmacy law prior to renewing their license.
For more information call (800) 364-2081 or visit http://bop.nv.gov.